Electronic Library

California Attorney General Opinions

The California Attorney General provides legal opinions upon request to designated state and local public officials and government agencies on issues arising in the course of their duties.

The California Codes are 29 legal codes enacted by the State Legislature, which together form the general statutory law of California.

The California Code of Regulations (CCR) is the official compilation and publication of the regulations adopted, amended or repealed by state agencies pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).

Municipal Code Corporation (Municode) was founded in 1951 for the sole purpose of codifying municipal laws and ordinances and publishing this material in loose leaf form. The following link provides electronic access to these ordinances.

The California Rules of Court are often reorganized to improve their format and usability. Use the following link to locate current rules.

The Judicial Council of California has adopted award-winning plain language civil and criminal jury instructions that accurately convey the law using language understandable to jurors.

Google Scholar is an online resource allowing anyone to search for court opinions. Google Scholar's court opinion coverage is limited to state appellate and supreme courts from 1950; federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts from 1923; and the U.S. Supreme Court from 1791.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States.

For your convenience a link is provided to the California Judicial Council's Forms page. These forms are fillable, editable, and savable.

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.

Please reload